Please follow the link to read this week’s newsletter notice sheet 19-05-2013 Pentecost year C
In the beginning ……
Grimsby, as the suffix by suggests, traces its origins back to a settlement of Danish seafarers arriving in about 800 AD from across the North Sea. The first recorded mention of a Church appears in a letter to the King of Norway in 1114 AD. By c1130, when Wellow Abbey received its charter from Henry 1, St James’ Church was included as part of the endowment.
The church of magnificent scale and proportion which we enjoy today dates back to c1235 when it was built by the canons of Wellow Abbey. Grimsby had received its Charter from King John in 1201, having grown from a small fishing settlement into a recognisable town with a thriving economy and the rudiments of political organisation evidenced by the appointment of a Mayor in 1218.
Responding to the needs of this growing community and, no doubt, seeking to raise their aspirations, the Austin Canons determined to build on a grand scale. In so doing they bequeathed not only this architectural gem but also the raison d’être of community support which inspires the Minster today.
In style the church dates from the late Early English period flourishing in the decade 1230 to 1240.